WashU Football Announces 2019 Award Winners

WashU Football Announces 2019 Award Winners

St. Louis, Mo., Feb. 13, 2020 – The Washington University in St. Louis football team announced its 2019 award winners at its annual Dinner with the Bears on Jan. 25. The players and the coaches voted on the awards. 

The Dinner with the Bears included recognition of the 22 seniors, distribution of conference and team awards, season-ending highlight video and comments from head coach Larry Kindbom

The Class of 2019 recorded an overall record of 26-14 (.650), captured the 2016 University Athletic Association (UAA) championship, the 2016 Southern Athletic Association (SAA) title and made an appearance in the 2016 NCAA Playoffs.

2019 Individual Awards
D3football.com All-North Region
Johnny Davidson, Second Team, Punter 

Johnny Davidson, First Team, Punter
John Christensen, Second Team, Linebacker
Johnny Davidson, Second Team, Quarterback
David Feng, Second Team, Offensive Line
Michael Prescott, Second Team, Defensive Line
Andrew Whitaker, Second Team, Defensive Back

CoSIDA Academic All-American
Will Hurley, First Team
John Fisher, Second Team

CoSIDA Academic All-District
Matt Bernstein, First Team
John Christensen, First Team
Johnny Davidson, First Team
John Fisher, First Team
Will Hurley, First Team 

2019 Team Awards
• Darryl Sharp Memorial MVP Award, Offense – Johnny Davidson
• Darryl Sharp Memorial MVP Award, Defense – Jeff Marek
• Scott Swofford Award (Special Teams MVP) – Chris Vartanian
• Most Inspirational Player – Kyle Cummings
• Bruce Melin Battling Bear Courage Award, Good Works Award – Nick Watts
• Dean's Award, Most Valuable Freshman – Cole Okmin
• WU Old Bear Award – John Fisher
• Most Improved Player –John Christensen 

In addition, WashU had 50 student-athletes named to the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin All-Academic Team: Zane Ahlfinger, Melvin Aninagyei-Bonsu, Matt Bernstein, Keenan Bilyeu, Anthony Brown , Jackson Butler, Drew Christensen, John Christensen, Johnny Davidson, Justin DiCarlo, Jarrett Dykema, Alex Eckels, Emmanuel Engermann, Clayton Farris, Sam Fenske, John Fisher, Nathan Genstein, Matt Giles, Ben Graue, Jeff Gurley, Jared Harrison, Chase Hartquist, Alex Harvey, Christian Henry, Will Hurley, Jarrod Huther, Langston Laramore-Josey, Grant Marcketta, Jeff Marek, Jack Mills, Matt Moore, Brendan Morrissey, Zach Paragas, TJ Perusek, Peter Pigatti, Michael Prescott, Carter Rholl, Bryce Roberts, Max Schieferdecker , Kyle Schroeder, Andrew Silver, Nolan Stafford, Connor Stevens, JT Streepy, Tim Tague, Crawford Tyler, Andrew Whitaker, Jackson Wilson, Clay Witmeyer, Shay Zutshi.

Kindbom led the Bears to a 7-3 overall record in the program's second season as an associate member in the CCIW. The Bears finished in a tie for third place in the CCIW with a 6-3 mark.