Football Lands 10 on NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Football Lands 10 on NFF Hampshire Honor Society


St. Louis, Mo., May 11, 2018 — Washington University in St. Louis had 10 student-athletes named to the 2018 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

An all-time high 1,271 players from a record 307 schools qualified for membership in the society's 12th year. The 1,271 players honored in 2018 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,103 honorees in 2017. The 307 schools with members breaks the previous mark of 302 set in 2017.

Seniors Harding Fears IIIGarris GoeCollin HolteNick LeducNate LowisMark McMillin, Michael MehaffyDavid NeesAndrew Ralph and Marcus Ramspott each earned the honor.

There were 18 schools that had at least 10 honorees in 2018, including Ashland, Brown, Butler, Central (Iowa), Dartmouth, Hobart, Johns Hopkins, Kalamazoo, Macalester, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Pomona-Pitzer, Redlands, Rose-Hulman, St. Thomas (Minn.), Wartburg, Washington & Jefferson, WashU and Yale.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 777 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

WashU finished the 2017 season with a 3-6 overall record, and had the No. 1 strength of schedule in NCAA Division III (0.641).